Who Will Host the 2030 World Cup? | Spurzine

Who Will Host the 2030 World Cup?


As the 2030 World Cup draws closer, four countries have placed their bids to host the prestigious competition that often takes place after four years.

As of now, we consider this a tight-biding race as four countries battle out for the next spot to host the upcoming 2030 World Cup tournament. Of course, Uganda isn’t one of them but we hope one day it could be so if only our country stops messing around :).

The World Cup has been played every 4 years since its inaugural tournament in Uruguay in 1930, and played every 4 years since, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of World War II.

The four countries in question include Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay and have all submitted a joint bid to host the 2030 World Cup. Uruguay hosted the competition’s first ever tournament in 1930 and according to them, they want to bring the World Cup “home” when it celebrates its centenary.

“This is the dream of a continent,” said Alejandro Dominguez, president of the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol). Spain and Portugal also joined the race and both countries announced their bid to be joint hosts.

Uruguay beat Argentina in the final to win the inaugural World Cup in 1930 and Dominguez was speaking at the scene of that win – Montevideo’s Centenario Stadium. “There will be more World Cups, but the cup only turns 100 one time, and it needs to come home,” added Dominguez.

Chile hosted the World Cup in 1962, while the tournament was held in Argentina in 1978.

“It’s right for the World Cup to be hosted where it all began, 100 years later,” said Ignacio Alonso, president of the Uruguayan Football Association.

Several Countries Bid to Host the 2030 World Cup

Aside from the above-mentioned countries, there were reports of African countries that were expected to place their bids as hosts for the upcoming World Cup. Morocco was one of the potential bidders since it has wanted to do so on several occasions in recent years.

There has also been speculation that the final bid could potentially include other African nations like Egypt, Algeria or Cameroon. However, it seems things didn’t pan out just like Morocco was expected to bid together with Spain and Portugal though reports indicate the partnership fell through.

Based on FIFA rules, the opportunity to host is open to all confederations except for those that hosted the previous two World Cups. The 2022 World Cup will be held in Qatar while Canada, Mexico and the USA will be joint hosts in 2026. Fifa plans to select the 2030 host in 2024.

The UK and Republic of Ireland football associations agreed in February not to bid for the 2030 World Cup and instead focus on a joint attempt to host Euro 2028.

Beginning in 2026, the World cup will be expanded to a 48-team tournament, likely requiring some nations to team up in order to host an event of that magnitude.

Source: BBC

Check out: Neymar Could End Up In Prison If Found Guilty in Trial

Subscribe to our newsletter and learn about the latest hottest musiclyrics, and lugambo of the week!

Allan Bangirana

Allan Bangirana is a freelance writer for Newslibre & Spurzine. He is passionate about tech, and games and occasionally writes about entertainment, lifestyle and so much more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *